Fortune Favors the Bold! I bring great big balls of glory! The Captain's Log
I have a confession. It's gonna be real embarassing but I feel that I should let it out. I know it will come as a shock to many people but I no longer care what people think when I mention this. Come to think of it, I *think* I told Bald-O once. I'm not sure so don't quote me. Here goes......

I have the latest NSYNC CD. *Hedgehoggy starts crying* You see, I won it at Barnes N Noble the day before it was to be put out on the shelf. They were holding a contest in which you name all the members. So, here I was with a pen and just wrote all the names down and left after I was done browsing. Well, I won it but notice how I have it cleverly hidden in my CD collection. Hell, it's never been played before. (editor's note: That better be true, Mike. If not there is a bounty about to be placed on your head. We aint talking about the "head" on your shoulders, buddy!)

This will be my music entry. Here goes......

MTV should stop calling itself a channel of music. If anything, it doesn't play music except late at night. Or on that moronic show called TRL (it just gets worse each year). All it does is show senseless shows that are repeated endlessly everyday. How many times must I see a special on "How To Live Like A Rock Star" or "Diary?" Don't get me wrong. Sometimes, they are quite thoughtful but it's rare. One show called "True Life" is VERY good.

What I am trying to say is that MTV has distanced itself from music videos to take in more revenue. It's easier for advertisers to shell out big bucks knowing people will watch certain shows. A good example is The Osbournes. Just look at the ads during the commercials. Hmmmmmm.....in other words there is a huge profit to be made in NOT showing videos. Oh, notice how long ads run as well. I watched 2 scenes of another show once while MTV was STILL in commercials!!!!

It's getting very annoying to see the same damn 10 videos all day. Hell, I don't even watch MTV that much but I see Justin Timberlake (very mediocre) and Pink (very nice) over and over. What happened to those that dare to be different? Garbage has the most innovative videos ever made. They are constantly different but it's like no one has ever heard of them. MTV never plays anything but Avril and the teen shit all the time!!! There are other acts that I want to see but can't. I can't remember the name of the band but oh, man! There's some good shit out there. Massive Attack is great as well. Ever heard of 'em?

MTV2 is now showing shows more than videos! I can't believe this at all. It used to be that we could count on that channel or even VH1. No longer. It's over. No great music that I used to come across like Don Henley, Pink Floyd, and Elvis Costello. I grew up on them and loved "The Old People's Channel," VH1.

People wonder why CDs are no longer being bought as much. Well, MTV is to blame as well. Since the good artists are not getting heard, how do you expect them to be heard? Radio? More people listen to CDs made themselves. Get it?

Rap is short for "crap." That's the way it has gotten. Don't get me started on "bitches, Hos, and all that bling bling." It's all image and I hate it. I used to defend it when it was fun and nice to listen to. "Keeping it real" is just an excuse to get women to take off their shirts to have champagne spilled on theit tits. I wish somebody had some dignity.

I used to listen to Ice-T and so on. At least they had a message of learning in a nice form of language. Now it's just bragging. Well, I don't give a shit anymore. At least Eminem can tell a story.

There is this thing that image is everything. Britney doesn't even write her own songs so why does this happen? I like the tunes but I'd rather it be played by someone that actually wrote it. Oh, what is up with this shit!?! Britney constantly tries to be so "good girl" and sweet southern but the reality I get is that she is fucking farce. No bad words? Well, here she is wearing shirts like "Sexci" and "Fuck Off." Now, I realize she has ther right to wear this stuff but wear it and be it. Not act like you don't even know what a blowjob is.

At least Christina has the nerve to dress like a skank and tell everyone that this is her. Bravo to her. I love Christina and the take no bullshit attitude from her. Writes her music and does the things her way. Are you listening Britney? Christina has guts to challenge what others think.

T.A.T.U. might be a problem. I've heard that their lesbian schtick is really just an act. I hate it when things like this are used to just get attention. Now, I could be wrong. If I am wrong, I'm happy to accept them for being "different" and doing what they want. Then again, lesbians are pretty cool, huh?

Why is Avril still around? I am beginning to dislike her though I love the video, "I'm With You." Avril can't sing in concert so they must have done a real wonder in the studio recording. To me, she is a 1 hit wonder going to disappear shortly. Oh, is Avril edgy? She can't even pronounce "Bowie" of David Bowie. Sex Pistols? Avril doesn't even know who they are or anything about them. Her music is just pure mall rat hash, good enough for one little high. After that, you wake up wondering why.

"A lot of those hip-hop guys. They sing about having big balls and having so much guts and stuff. But they don't have any artistic guts."

Daron Malakian of System Of A Down

I liked that quote I found. It sums up quite a bit. Don't "act" like you know but actually know what you are talking about. Music is just shit nowadays. I'll always long for the old days in which I could always see a new video that catches my attention. Sadly, I don't think I ever will. My memories of turning on the tube to see Cindy Lauper, Men At Work, Pink Floyd, The Who, Elvis Costello, and Sex Pistols are long gone.

Hey wanna know something funny? When I was a kid, I used to visit my cousin's room at times. He had these pics of Johnny Rotten and The Clash on his wall. I was so young but I KNEW who they were thanks to him. Little did I know that I would actually be more informen than most people my age. Makes me feel old now. 0 Got Balls?

- - 2009-07-07

Love Facebook - 2009-05-07

Retards Away! - 2009-02-16

Jackasses! I Sees 'Em! - 2008-11-28

My Birthday Happened - 2008-09-07




New | Old | Profile | Gbook | Notes | Dland | Design | Pictures