Fortune Favors the Bold! I bring great big balls of glory! The Captain's Log
Alright! The game's a foot and ready to be placed on the table. The rules are you get 12 songs and 1 bonus track in which you make a soundtrack of your life. Trust me in that it's not as easy as it looks. Mine took 10 minutes to do but that was because I've had to live in my past at times (it catches up with me) while I'm dealing with the present. Songs pop up in my head in oddest of times. Listen to 'em since it might be a warning of some kind. Everyone's got "spidey sense."

1. "Twilight Zone" by Golden Earring. No one rocks a 6 minute song better than these guys, an 80s band that made one of my favorite music videos at the time. The song starts off loopy in which the author is confused about what happened. As the guitars take shape, we see some confusing images. Holy shit!!! I played this song LOUD in my car and love it when "This place is a madhouse, feels like being cloned" comes on all while taking someone home and she just squealed with delight at how good it was.

2. "Hazy Shade Of Winter" by The Bangles. I lost my virginity to another song by them but this song already had so much meaning. Like the movie "Less Than Zero," I had to deal with so many other people fucked up on drugs but I was clean. The other part was that this song played as I was having wild sex and missing my one true love. It's tough but this song, originally by Paul Simon and Garfunkel, is just so good in lyrics.

"Hang on to your hopes my friend.

That's an easy thing to say

If your hopes were to pass away,

simply pretend

that you can build them again."

3. "Cry You Outta Me" by Sozzi. This song is on the "Teaching Ms. Tingle" soundtrack and it never leaves my CD player. Ever. Such a good song to play when in love or lust or confused.

"My hearts been beating all day,

like I've been runnin away."

4. "Every Rose Has It's Thorn" by Poison. C'mon, you didn't think I'd leave the one song I've been forced to sing to my roommates out. This song is a bit personal in some other ways. It does remind me of hard times in classes and it's so much fun to mimic Bret Michael's voice-I do so well.

"I hear our favorite song,

playin on the radio."

5. "Only Happy When It Rains" by Garbage. I swear that when I saw Shirley Manson in this video, I fell in love with this red head and full o' fire vixen. In interviews, she sounds like me-loving and angry. Before I even saw the video or heard the song, I bought it at a used CD place because the damn disc spoke to me! I swear! The next thing ya know, I'm playing it all the time. The song's about enoying a bit of misery because you can't and shouldn't be happy all the time.

"My only comfort is the night gone black"

6. "Every Breath You Take" by The Police. Beautiful. Just beautiful even if a bit psycho in obsession. Sting and Andy Summers were so cool back then. The black n' white video in which Andy played the guitar with a smoking cigarette rested in the strings. Funny thing is that he didn't smoke.

"Every chance you see,

you belong to me."

7. "Learning To Fly" by Pink Floyd. Oh, it was tough finding a song when there are so many from this band! This song may not be the best but it reminds me of when I lost my best friend to alcohol. It was one of the worst times of my life to lose him. This guy, Newman, introduced me to their music and I never looked back. I'm pretty sure everyone can find a song from them.

8. "November Rain" by Guns N' Roses. Does this band have any bad songs? This song was pretty personal as well in how Kristan played it a lot on her CD player during sex or whatever. The lyrics are a bit haunting and I played it before school in the mornings to perk me up.

9. "Owner Of A Lonely Heart" by Yes. Fascinatingly poetic in guitar and words. So eerie in music video that one cannot forget it. Only song worth remembering from this band, I guess.

10. "She's A Beauty" by The Tubes. Weirdest band in it's sexual stage antics. Loved this one song that played endlessly at the time. Driving guitar like Golden Earring's song above. Unforgetable.

11. "Take A Bow" by Madonna. This song is not played much anymore since Kristan and I made it OUR SONG. I knew all the lyrics and it will haunt me forever.

"I've always been in love with you"

12. "1979" by Smashing Pumpkins. Great fun song that Newman and I used to play. He got me hooked on The Pumpkins thanks to this one song as well as being able to see them perform it in concert (OMG) with Garbage on Halloween Night. Best 3 and a half hour concert I've ever been to that Sammy would have cried tears of joy with me. Loved D' Arcy's look and Shirley's spunk.

"On a crowded street,

you and I should meet."

My Bonus Track was tough to pick but I'll go with the one song I feel today as well as for the last few years.

"Estranged" by Guns N' Roses. Never have I felt so alone in life in which I'm talking to myself and no one's home. The video summed it up perfectly in the feeling of loneliness and chaos combining into one time.

There you have it. That's my soundtrack to my life for now. It's tough to do since I have close to 700 CDs that have some kind of meaning to me. Anyone else want to do one? I'm curious what songs play in other people's heads. Sammy?

0 Got Balls?

- - 2009-07-07

Love Facebook - 2009-05-07

Retards Away! - 2009-02-16

Jackasses! I Sees 'Em! - 2008-11-28

My Birthday Happened - 2008-09-07




New | Old | Profile | Gbook | Notes | Dland | Design | Pictures