Fortune Favors the Bold! I bring great big balls of glory! The Captain's Log
It's strange how everything old is new again. There was a big article on how 80s toys are back in style. My question is: "Since when!?!"

Memories strike back to me in a big way when I see all the little things from my past. At Hot Topic, I saw Strawberry Shortcake t-shirts (LOVED the smell of the toys since I love strawberries) along with Pac-Man ones. G.I.Joe figures (we all know my addiction to these) are selling out to the point that I have to really find them or someone else will buy them before me. Damn, I feel like a kid again!

I remember having to scour the aisles at Target, Zayre, Circus World, and so on to get the toys I wanted. Most of them consisted of Transformers and G.I.Joes since I had already amassed the complete collection of Star Wars (worth thousands of dollars today) to which I eventually just got rid of.

When I was a kid, $20 was a lot of money and it was spent on my first Transformer that I bought at Circus World in the mall. Once I got home, I could not believe that this would eventually start an army. Soon, I was getting Transformers all over the place, Optimus Prime, Grimlock, and so on. Collecting these things cost a lot. Trust me on that one.

G.I.Joes were pretty cheap back then at $1.99 a Joe. Nowadays, it's about $8 for 2 in a case. No more of getting your Joes one at a time because the company forces us jocks (with geekness) to buy the shitty ones we don't want with the ones we do.

Christmas morning had the old memory of the G.I.Joe cartoon doing a special episode set to which I watched in awe. Gawd, I loved that show and had so many figures to play with. Me, a little kid, that knew the names of most weaponry financed by the military. Scary but I was so innocent and had the luck of putting my hamsters in a hydrofoil to cruise around with. Gizmo expected rides.

I'm amazed at how my past keeps coming back, whether it be toys or characters, it's nice. I love it that another generation gets to experience what I loved (and unfortunately still collect on occasion). It's always been to me that people have run out of imagination since toys such today. You can find little girls knowing all about vibrators a little too early, huh?

Speaking of being into the old stuff, I read that women today want younger men. 40 year old women want frat boys!!! I'm sorry but I have to laugh at this but do kind of see what is getting to these women wanting to relive youth.

First of all, I see a lot of guys at the age of 40 not going out with their wives. When did dating just stop? A guy should take his sweetheart out every now and then to show appreciation. Then again, it could be us 20 year olds being sex machines to which the 40 year old guys can't get it up or forgot how to fuck. Sad.

From my point of view, I have another theory. I think we are so overworked today that we've forgotten intimacy. Once we get home, all we wanna do is sit or just watch TV. There's no time or energy to enjoy life anymore. I just hope I don't become one of those people that forgot to have fun with music, sex, and "bein goofy."

Well, my dogs need a run and I wanna take a long hot bath. Yes, I got 2 Fast 2 Furious and Bend It Like Beckham. Can't wait to see them. I've got to find me some toys for the bathtub soon. How many miss rubber duckies? 0 Got Balls?

- - 2009-07-07

Love Facebook - 2009-05-07

Retards Away! - 2009-02-16

Jackasses! I Sees 'Em! - 2008-11-28

My Birthday Happened - 2008-09-07




New | Old | Profile | Gbook | Notes | Dland | Design | Pictures