Fortune Favors the Bold! I bring great big balls of glory! The Captain's Log
"I drool."

-Sara (explaining to me what it was that I was whisking away from her lips when she woke up)

Yeah, I'm at that point where Sara and I will find ourselves cleaning each other up here and there like those hot springs monkey that seem to get in a circle picking bugs out of each other. I'll wipe little eye boogers from Sara's eyes while she will pull off the ever obvious cat hair thanks to her cat. Can you say "evolution?"

Good!

I have been having a terrible time staying awake all day since I got back around 4pm. The whole weekend had Sara and I up til close to 5am each morning. Maybe she is used to this kind of thing but my body pretty much shuts itself off around 3am and doesn't want to get up for anything. Not even a late night showing of 2 Buffy the Vampire Slayer episodes could muster any energy out of me.

So, like a good ol' Illinoisan, I took the time to find what could wake me up. If you ask anyone down south what is best for waking a body up, you'll get "meth!" Nope, I'm just not the type to mess with that kind of stuff no matter how fun it is to spend the whole day twitching and waving at little green people walking off with my socks while the Smurf's Theme plays.

What did I get? The candy, Hot Tamales, seems to work. Gawd, I'm a fan of things that are a little hot or even too hot for the normal crowd. Super hot jawbreakers are also a good suitable candy for warding off the sleepy blues. I'm just chewing my Hot Tamales like a freak without a care in the world.

Editor: "Michael Jackson might use Hot Tamales as......uh....bait. They also makes the kids run around a bit since he likes them to play hard to get."

Yeah, I'm probably surprising some people that I am home earlier than expected but it's mostly because I am going back to Indiana on Thursday night or Friday. The local bookstores have Harry Potter parties and with Sara and I as complete addicts for the series, we'll be there. This will be one time that I let it slide that young 'uns will be allowed within 3 feet of me. I'm afraid of kids, yo. Seriously.

Editor: "Don't forget clowns, water, and midgets. I cannot imagine you around a midget dressed as a clown holding a pail of water. The fear in your eyes has got to be so incredibly easy to read!"

So, you know the drill. I won't get into all that happened in Indiana til tomorrow but I will give you a couple teasers:

-Spook was back and made itself be known.

-Dreams can feel so real.

-A certain TV show can get me a little too hyped up and singing the theme song with complete glee. I'm an embarassment so Sara sees this as a time to hide in the bathroom as I make my awful voice known.

However, I have enough energy for this. The local library was holding a book sale on Saturday. At first, I was not impressed since it was obvious all the good stuff was already gone by the time we got there. I did find myself imerssed in the bidding section of old valuable books since I do have a fascination with World War 2. It sickens me to say that as much as I hate Hitler, the man was pretty damn amazing in how he got so many people to follow his beliefs. When I got to the picture of the Jewish woman holding her baby while a soldier aimed his rifle at her head, this was where I needed to kick myself for even thinking such things.

Somewhere along the time spent around the book sale, I grew a little bored and ticked due to the heat. Sweat was pretty much having its way with me as I tried to find something that interested me. The paperbacks looked do tattered from heavy use so nothing warranted an inspection.

It was when I got to the collection of albums that I got all friggin' fascinated. Holy shit! There was so much history within these boxes of vinyl.

"I know a place where we can
dance the whole night away."

The first album I pulled out was Debarge. Heard of this band? I'm pretty sure the guy was named El Debarge but anyway, I loved the song "Rhythm Of the Night" no matter how corny it was. As long as the music got to me, I didn't care if the dude looked like a rejected version of the 80's Prince. Damn, I'm sure your black music history consists of N.W.A. but mine goes much further back.

"To the beat of the rhythm of the night.
Dance until the morning light.
Forget about the worries on your mind.
We can leave them all behind."

-"Rhythm Of the Night" by Debarge

I mean, if you've ever seen the movie, The Last Dragon, something Summerroll and I love, you'll hear this song and video throughout. Corny music can be good so I give you more..........

From Debarge, I found the St. Elmo's Fire album soundtrack. I've already mentioned my love of the Love Theme so that's nothing new. We shall forget my discussion of Rob Lowe chasing me around the college campus if I suddenly turned into a hot little 15 year old girl. I have no idea where my mind was at during that time on Diaryland.

The 2 other albums that bring back a lot of memories before your music history were Spandau Ballet and David Lee Roth. For me and everyone in the 80's, it was Spandau Ballet's "True" that haunts and re-haunts your ears. Oh, how pathetic was that video of the lead singer standing there in a nice suit, thick makeup, and a thing mic looking like a newly formed Boy George with his hair parted to the side? Lost? Forget the video, the song, at least for me, was good enough to play in my head forever.

David Lee Roth's album, Skyscraper, had that song, "Just Like Paradise." This boy was Van Halen so don't go anywhere with Sammy Hagar. That man had nothing on a spandex wearing martial artist that knew how to deal with groupies in his bed. What David did was have timed switches on who does what. But anyway, the song continues to get to me as well.

"Susie, Susie
For cryin' out loud,
with all the right moves,
you make me eat my heart out."

-"Just Like Paradise"

I'm sure you are shaking your head wondering what the hell I am talking about but you missed when music was actually good and not seen as how you look or who you know. Of course, we did have the occasional Ashlee Simpsons but they were more easily weeded out than they are now. Can someone please break Aaron Carter's legs soon? I don't care if you hate my love of 80's music because this music actually played on the intercoms at the daycare I attended and found myself wishing everyone would disappear so I could shake my little Underoo ass to Olivia Newton John's "Physical."

Oh, let me hear your body talk!

So, I have obviously embarassed the hell out of myself as usual. I have no shame in my love of things that do not include Britney Spears or moronic celebs, folks. Just dancin' my cares away each night as I wake up to a sleepy Sara. I drool, too. Goodnight. 0 Got Balls?

- - 2009-07-07

Love Facebook - 2009-05-07

Retards Away! - 2009-02-16

Jackasses! I Sees 'Em! - 2008-11-28

My Birthday Happened - 2008-09-07




New | Old | Profile | Gbook | Notes | Dland | Design | Pictures